Authors beware: A new danger for KU authors

This is one more reason why I will never go Kindle Uunlimited. I’ve never had problems with the Big A, but I don’t want all my eggs in their basket. I use Draft 2 Digital to post to all other venues. That way, in one day of uploading in 2 simple steps, Amazon and D2D, I am able to make sure my work is available in all formats. If a person wanted they could even post to Amazon through D2D, but I prefer to keep that separate as most of my sales are through Amazon.

Darrienia: The Forgotten Legacies Series

Hi all,

Anyone who follows me closely will know my book was removed from Amazon for almost a fortnight after they registered some unusual activity. At first I was at a loss. What was it, where had it come from? But since I have learnt a terrifying truth behind Kindle Unlimited, it is one all authors need to be aware of. It is a KU scam that could ruin your career and put your money into fraudsters’ pockets.

In this post I will detail my own experience, in hope you know what to look out for.

I was running a book promotion, a push to generate interest in my first book. After approaching blogs and book promotion sites I began to run a 99cents promotion on Darrienia, which at that time was number one in two of its categories. Book two is coming out at the end of the year…

View original post 1,309 more words

Author: conniejjasperson

Connie J. Jasperson lives in Olympia, Washington. A vegan, she and her husband share five children, a love of good food and great music. She is active in local writing groups, an editor for Myrddin Publishing Group, and is a writing coach. She is an active member of the both the Northwest Independent Writers Association and Pacific Northwest Writers Association, and is a founding member of Myrddin Publishing Group. Music and food dominate her waking moments. When not writing or blogging she can be found with her Kindle, reading avidly.

3 thoughts on “Authors beware: A new danger for KU authors”

  1. Anyone who can answer this. I’m confused. There’s controversy about kindle unlimited. I’m not a writer, I’m a BIG avid reader! So am I doing bad by all of you great writers by having kindle unlimited????

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not at all, Debra! The situation is that some scam artists had found a way to scam Amazon, and while the process is still a bit wonky, it’s gradually righting itself. I choose not to participate in KU, although my books are available for anyone who wants to read them, through KU. The difference is, I don’t get paid on a per page read basis, I simply get paid when my book is purchased. I want to have my books available across all reading platforms, and if you are a KU author, your work is only available through Amazon. Some authors are doing well at this!

      Like

      1. @Debra–Since this morning I have discovered that my books are not available through KU, but they are available to be loaned from one reader to another. I feel okay with that, and don’t care if people loan my books around as much as they want. I can’t think of a higher compliment an author could ask for, than to have my books loaned to friends of my readers, who might then become readers of my work 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

