Learning To Fail With Style

Once upon a time, I started doing NaNoWriMo and realized I could write books. I’m skipping a lot of the middle bits, but that’s more or less how I became a writer. I published my first book in 2013. Like many first-time self-publishing authors, I produced a shiny pile of crap. Its primary redeeming quality was the story, at least. If you run down a list of How To Self-Publish a Book, I did everything imaginable wrong. In short, I failed hard.

From that failure, I learned so many things it’s mind-boggling to me how I could have failed that much. It reminds me of Starship Troopers:

Carl: “Statistically speaking, you should’ve accidentally guessed right by now.”

Yes, exactly that. The important thing, though, isn’t how awful I did at the beginning, it’s the part where I learned from my failures. A much younger me once failed at something important and then proceeded to balk at all future risky things. Older me has stopped giving a crap and now takes the risks and suffers the slings and arrows of failure. It’s a wild ride, with bigger ups to go with the bigger downs, and that’s the thing.

You can’t learn to fly if you’re not willing to take a leap.


Lee French has published several fantasy and science fiction novels, and is a member of the Edgewise Words Inn staff

Author: Lee French

Lee French lives in Olympia, WA with two kids, two bicycles, and too much stuff. She is an avid gamer and active member of the Myth-Weavers online RPG community, where she is known for her fondness for Angry Ninja Squirrels of Doom. In addition to spending much time there, she also trains year-round for the one-week of glorious madness that is RAGBRAI, has a nice flower garden with one dragon and absolutely no lawn gnomes, and tries in vain every year to grow vegetables that don't get devoured by neighborhood wildlife.

1 thought on “Learning To Fail With Style”

Leave a Reply

