Love My Job, Hate My Industry

I love to write. Any time of the day or night, I might be found writing. When I’m not writing, I’m often thinking about the things I could be writing, or thinking about writing itself (unless I’m reading, which I also do a lot). It’s impossible to explain what about the process of writing causes my brain to release the happy juice. All I can say for sure is that when I can’t write, I better be exercising a lot, or I’m gonna get cranky after a day or two.

Publishing, on the other hand, sucks. Granted, I self-publish, which means all the work is on me. I find my beta readers, find my editors, get the covers created, come up with the promotional materials, format everything, and make every other conceivable decision myself. Pros: I get to control it all. Cons: I have to control it all. This, however, isn’t the part that makes me hate my industry.

What I dislike the most about publishing is how difficult it is to figure everything out and how many people are screaming to tell me exactly how it works. Do this, don’t do that. No, do that but don’t do this. This works. No, this works. Nuh-uh, all those people are dumb because that works. Follow the rules. Break the rules. Pay me. No, pay me. No, they’re dumb, so pay me instead.

There are times when I want to pull my hair out and scream at the wind and give up. I can write and not publish it, after all. Lots of people do that. it would be easier and require less editing and fretting over blurbs and taglines and cover images and all the rest. But then, I wouldn’t get to meet all the other awesome authors out there, like David and Connie. It’s a small price to pay to mingle with such excellent people.


Lee French has published several fantasy and science fiction novels, and is a member of the Edgewise Word Inn staff

Author: Lee French

Lee French lives in Olympia, WA with two kids, two bicycles, and too much stuff. She is an avid gamer and active member of the Myth-Weavers online RPG community, where she is known for her fondness for Angry Ninja Squirrels of Doom. In addition to spending much time there, she also trains year-round for the one-week of glorious madness that is RAGBRAI, has a nice flower garden with one dragon and absolutely no lawn gnomes, and tries in vain every year to grow vegetables that don't get devoured by neighborhood wildlife.

2 thoughts on “Love My Job, Hate My Industry”

Leave a Reply

